Governor Abbott Appoints 11 Texas Nonprofit Council Members | Texas Governor’s Office


October 1, 2021 | Austin, Texas | Appointment

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed 11 members to the Texas Nonprofit Council for terms ending October 1, 2024. The Council will make recommendations to improve contractual relationships, develop best practices, and identify and address gaps in the services provided and that can be fulfilled by faith. based organizations.

Kile Bateman de Wichita Falls is Senior Pastor of Evangel Church. He is Director of Family First Orphan Care and Founder of Phased In. He is a member of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services Advisory Committee on Promoting Adoption of Minority Children. Bateman received a Bachelor of Science in Ministry from the Southwestern Assembly of God University.

Sereniah Breland de Pflugerville is the general manager of the town of Pflugerville. She is president of the Texas City Management Association (TCMA). Breland received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Stephen F. Austin State University and a master’s degree in public affairs from the University of Texas at Dallas.

Deborah Healey Drago of Beaumont is a low-income customer service specialist for the eastern region of Entergy Texas, Inc. She is a member of the board of directors of the Rotary Club of Beaumont, the Leadership Southeast Texas Advisory Council, and the South East Texas Criminal Justice Advisory Committee . She is also a member of the Beaumont Leadership Class of 2022 and is an active member of several nonprofit boards of directors and parent associations. Drago holds a Bachelor of Science in Applied Learning and Development from the University of Texas at Austin, an MBA from Lamar University, and a Teaching Certificate from Texas.

Fedora Galasso d’Austin is executive director of the Texas Network of Youth Services. She is an advisory member of the Texas Interagency Council on Homelessness and a member of the DFPS Committee on Advancing Residential Practices, Children’s Commission Collaborative Council, Statewide Collaborative on Trauma Informed Care Taskforce, Houston Area Partners for Youth, and Austin Ending Youth Homelessness Coalition. Galasso received a BA in Psychology and Sociology from Texas A&M University-Commerce as well as an MA in Public Affairs and an MA in Social Work from the University of Texas.

Jenifer Jarriel from Houston is president of the DePelchin Children’s Center. She is a board member and chair of the Texas Alliance for Child and Family Services center, as well as a board member of the Network of Behavioral Health Providers, LifeGift, and the Periwinkle Foundation. Jarriel received a Bachelor of Science in Education from the University of Houston and an MBA from Houston Baptist University.

Katherine “Kathy” Keane de San Angelo is a consultant and former executive director of the Texas Midwest Community Network. She is director of the Fort Concho Museum Board and a member of the Texas Rural Practitioners and the Digital Texas Coalition Executive Committee. Keane attended Angelo State University and received a public manager certification from the Texas Tech University Center for Public Service.

Virginie “Ginny” Lewis Ford d’Austin is executive director of the Texas Association of Regional Councils. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas, chair of the Department of State’s Health Services Preparedness Coordinating Council, a member of the Advisory Committee of the Aging and Disability Resource Center of the Health Commission. and Social Services, Texas Department of Public Safety’s Homeland Security Council, and board member of the National Association of Development Organizations. Ford received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing from Texas Tech University and a JD from St. Mary’s University Law School.

Amy Ledbetter Parham de Buda is CEO of Habitat for Humanity Texas. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Government from the University of Texas at Austin, a Bachelor of Science in Home Consumption from Texas State University, and a Master of Public Affairs from the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas. .

Adrianna Cuellar Rojas of Austin is President and CEO of United Ways of Texas. She is also past chair of the board of directors of Foundation Communities and a member of the board of directors of the United Way Retirees Association. Cuellar received a BA in French and International Studies from Trinity University and an MA in Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Austin.

Philippe williams of Dallas is the Executive Director of ilooklikeLOVE, Inc. She attended El Centro College and studied public relations at the University of Texas at Arlington.

Carol Zernial de San Antonio is Executive Director of the WellMed Charitable Foundation. She is a fellow of the American Society on Aging and Grantmakers in Aging and is secretary of the board of trustees of the Winston School of San Antonio. Zernial received a Bachelor of Arts in French from Trinity University and a Master of Arts in Social Gerontology from the University of the Incarnate Word.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.