US announces sanctions against key members of Russian defense firm

The world was fascinated by Russia’s perpetration of a premeditated, unprovoked and unjustified attack on Ukraine. Russia’s renewed invasion of Ukraine has resulted in widespread human suffering and loss, including the death of innocent civilians, including children. Today, the State Department continues to impose significant costs on Russian military leaders.

Specifically, the following 11 persons are designated pursuant to EO 14024, Section 1(a)(i), as persons who operate or have operated in the defense and related materiel sector of the economy of the Russian Federation :

  1. ALEKSEY KRIVORUCHKO is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  2. TIMUR IVANOV is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  3. YUNUS-BEK EVKUROV is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  4. DMITRI BULGAKOV is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister and Army General. Bulgakov is the senior officer of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation responsible for logistics issues.
  5. YURI SADOVENKO is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  6. NIKOLAI PANKOV is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  7. RUSLAN TSALIKOV is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  8. GENNADY ZHIDKO is a Russian Deputy Defense Minister.
  9. VIKTOR ZOLOTOV is a Russian army general and commander-in-chief of the Russian National Guard troops. He is a member of the Security Council of Russia.
  10. DMITRY SHUGAEV is a senior official of the Russian Ministry of Defense who is the director of the Federal Military Technical Cooperation Service of the Russian Ministry of Defense.
  11. ALEXANDER MIKHEV is the managing director of Rosoboronexport, which is the Russian state-controlled intermediary that conducts foreign trade in military goods. Mikheev was involved in synchronizing supplies of weapons and special equipment using Russian Ministry of Defense capabilities; was a member of an organizing committee headed by the Russian Minister of Defense of a military forum organized by the Russian Ministry of Defence; and was part of a delegation led by the Russian Defense Minister.

Such persons will be added to the list of Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons and all property and interests in property of the above persons that are in the United States or in the possession or control of US Persons are blocked and must be reported to the Department. the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) of the Treasury. In addition, all entities owned, directly or indirectly, 50% or more by one or more blocked persons are also blocked. All transactions by U.S. Persons or within (or in transit of) the United States that involve property or interests in property of named or otherwise blocked persons are prohibited except as authorized by a general or specific license issued by OFAC, or exempt. These prohibitions include making any contribution or supply of funds, goods or services by, to or for the benefit of any Blocked Person and receiving any contribution or supply of funds, goods or services from such person.

Comments are closed.